Grow Opportunity

News Business Management Retail
Delta 9 launches own recycling program

December 14, 2020  By Grow Opportunity staff

Delta 9 Cannabis Inc. is on a mission to divert cannabis packaging and disposable vape pens away from landfills.

This vertically-integrated cannabis company is partnering with Canadian recycling company, Emterra Environmental, to create a Blue Box-like program where customers can bring their empty cannabis containers, packaging, disposable vapes and vape cartridges to any of its Delta 9 retail locations.

“At Delta 9 Cannabis, we’re committed to reducing our carbon footprint,” said Delta 9 CEO John Arbuthnot. “Some of Canada’s top Licensed Producers are partnering with us on this initiative including Tweed, 7ACRES, High Park, FIGR, and Sundial.”

Each Delta 9 retail location will have two recycling boxes – Flower Recycling and Vapes Landfill Diversion.


Once the Flower Recycling box is filled, it will be picked up and delivered to ReVital Polymers’ plastics recycling facility in Sarnia, Ont. where post consumer plastics are processed into engineered resin products. All waste will be responsibly processed in Canada.

Customers will be encouraged to place vape cartridges into plastic bags before putting them into the Landfill Diversion box. Vape pens can be placed in the box as is. The vape pens will then be processed to recover the battery, plastic, and metal. The cartridges are managed as a special waste and are sent to an energy from waste facility for processing.

“We’re looking forward to analyzing the different types of cannabis packaging found in this recycling program,” said Paulina Leung, VP of Corporate Strategy and Business Development at Emterra Group. “This will allow us to help Licensed Producers optimize their packaging design decisions and make their packaging more recyclable and sustainable.”

Earlier this month, the Cannabis Council of Canada (C3) and its company partners launched its own vape recycling program. The program has launched in 200 retail locations in British Columbia, Alberta and Ontario.

Print this page


Stories continue below